Skip to main content


Nakshatras (Distant star)

Nakshatra (Sanskrit: नक्षत्र) is the term for the lunar mansion in Hindu astrology and Indian Astronomy.

A Nakshatra is one of 28 (sometimes also 27) sectors along the ecliptic. Their names are related to a prominent star or asterisms in or near the respective sectors.

The term "Nakshatra", when broken down into its constituent parts:- "Naks" meaning "Sky"
and "shetra" meaning "region" translate into "Sky Map". Another translation is arrived at by a different and "Naksh" is "Map" and "Tara" is "Star" is so Nakshatra is  Star Map.

Both meanings clearly show that in the eyes of the ancient Vedic seers it is the 27 nakshatras
 and not the 12 Rashi is (Star-signs), which map the sky.

Jyotish (Vedic Astrology) without nakshatras is as incomplete as the human body is without
eyes. If Jyotish is the "eye of the Vedas", then Nakshatras are the "eyes of Jyotish'

The Nakshatras are the Distant Stars in the Vedic astrological horoscope. There are 27 Nakshatras that exist to emulate the moon’s mean daily motion of 13:20.

  • Important Nakshatra Details and Patterns

The Nakshatras exist energetically behind and through the Rashis. 

The Rashis show 4 elemental signs (Fire, Earth, Air, Water) that repeat 3 times, through different Qualities(Cardinal, Fixed, Mutable).
The Nakshatras also energetically repeat as the 9 planetary lords are expressed through the 3 Gunas(RAJASIC, SATTWIC, TAMASIC). 

The first group of nine Nakshatras (Aries-Cancer) is Rajasic; they activate the cycle. 
The second nine are Tamasic (Leo-Scorpio), stabilizing the cycle. 
The last group is Sattwic (Sagittarius-Pisces), completing and transcends the cycle.

Nakshatra is ruled by a Planet and that is ruled over by a deity. Owing to their nature, Vedic deities that lord over the different Nakshatras. The Deities who rule them show the Shakti of these sectors.

The Nakshatras show our connection to the transpersonal forces of the Cosmos.
They show the transcendent, forces at play in our everyday lives. 
In a birth chart, all planets reside in a House, a Sign and a Nakshatra.

The 27 Nakshatras, in a way, represents our journey from birth to death.

 The ideal path of one's passage in life can be viewed through the 27 nakshatras in a short,
general way : -


Ashwini: Twin Horses/Healer

Bharani: Bearer-Woman

Kṛittika: Cutting

Rohini: Red woman

Mrigashira: Head of a Deer/Wandering

Ardra: Moist OnE

Punarvasu: Return of the Light

Pushya: Nourishing

Ashlesha: The Embracer/Mind Game.

Magha: The Great One/Games of Thrones

Purva Phalguni: Former Reddish one

Uttara Phalguni: Latter Reddish one

Hasta: The Hand Skills

Chitra: The Bright One

Swati: Independent

Vishakha: Purposeful

Anurādhā: Disciple of the divine spark

Jyeshthā: The Eldest

Mūla: The Deep Root/Researcher

Purvashadha: The  Former Undefeated

Uttarashadha: Latter Undefeated

Abhijeet: Victorious one

Shravana: Listening and Learning

Dhanishta: The Richest/Musician

Shatabhishak: Hundred healers

Purva Bhadrapada: Former happy feet

Uttara Bhadrapada: Latter happy feet

Revati: The Wealthy


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Arudhapada and Upapada

              Arudhapada and Upa p ada Jaimini has mentioned with the Arudha Pada System in Vedic Astro world. Though Sage Parasara has originally seeded in B.P.H.S later on Maharshi Jaimini dig deep and located many pearls out of his wisdom and intuition leading to invent the system known as by the name of Jaimini astrology rather than Parasara. The Arudha Pada system is a based on degrees of Planets , has Karakas . While Vargas of signs, mathematical calculations are not considered. Only the natal chart is enough in Jaimini system . The predictions promised by Lagna Arudha, Bhava Arudha and Graha Arudha take place during the currency of periods of those planets in their Dasha Antar Dasha. Perception Do Matters !! Arudha Lagna is the reflection of the self (how others perceive it) same goes with other bhava(house) too Arudha of a house represents the Maya (reflection or illusion) connected to it. Arudha of the houses will represent others illusions about that house or karaka rela

Travel and settlement in Foreign Land

 Foreign Travel and Settlement Astrology  Foreign Travel is on the Checklist of the Youngsters, But the chart should also represent the same some people go for a small tour, some go for higher education, some for jobs, some for settlement, some for hospitalization too. Let us try to understand the combinations of Foreign Travel in Astrology.   If you are thinking about what is the  Best Planetary Combination for foreign travel in astrology or the Best Yoga for going abroad. Which Signs helps in Foreign travel? Signs: The signs based on nature: Movable, Fixed, Dual Chara Rashi or Movable sign- Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn Sthira Rashi or Fixed Sign- Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius Dual Sign- Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces. Movable signs are given Prime importance for there changing tendency is high in these signs. So when max Planets are placed in these signs, they give a changing tendency to the native-like changing of residence, changing of job, changing of the co


     KNOW YOUR SPOUSE When we first move to astrology, the first thing we are interested in finding the kind of spouse we might have and will end up with or the type of relationships we might have. With the help of astrology, we can accurately predict the kind of spouse we might have. The Main Indicators of the Spouse in the Chart are: 1. Sign of the 7th House. 2. Planets in the 7th House. 3. Nakshatra of the planet occupying the 7th House. 4. Lord of the 7th House and the house it occupies in the Chart. 5 . For Males, Where is Venus  Placed and the nakshatra it is in and exactly opposite nakshatra of the Venus. For Example , if your Venus is in 14-degree Rohini nakshatra then see the first and 7th house nakshatra from it which is Jyeshta nakshatra, and see the dominant features of both the nakshatras. 6. For Women, Where is Jupiter Placed and the nakshatra it is in and exactly opposite nakshatra of the  Jupiter. For Example, if your